Skip to content

Gourmet turkey meatloaf

December 24, 2009

The raw ingredients:

meatraw

So the ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 large onion (diced in small bits and sauteed)
  • 1 bulb garlic (or to your liking, diced and cooked up with the onions)
  • 1 cup pecorino/romano cheese blend (you can choose any dry grated cheese you like)
  • 1/2 cup pesto
  • 2 tsp red chili flakes (more or less according to taste–I like spice)
  • 1 cup oats soaked in milk for several hours (Bread crumbs are traditionally used in meatloaf. When I became aware of my wheat sensitivity I came up with the oats as an alternative and they are quite delightful even if you can eat wheat! I recommend you give it a try.)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 handfuls of dehydrated tomatoes (not pictured above—I thought of it as I cooked the onions and garlic and threw them in with some water to steam and reconstitute—my step-dad sends us loads of them every year from their very prolific garden)
  • Salt to taste. I also tossed in a bit of Tamari while steaming the tomatoes as part of the reconstitution process…but just a bit of it…didn’t want to be aware of the Tamari in a distinct fashion. (Tamari is basically soy sauce but it’s made without wheat)

Directions:

Saute onions, garlic and tomatoes if you want to use them. The alternative is half can of tomato paste in the meat mixture or if you have it on hand and eat the stuff a hefty squirt of Ketchup. I don’t eat Ketchup anymore, but it works if you do.

Put aside the sauteed veggies and let cool.

Mix the meat and all the rest of the ingredients in a mixing bowl. Once the saute has cooled a bit mix that in with all the meat ingredients.

Oil pan. I use an olive oil spray. Dump the meat mixture into the pan.

Put into pre-heated 350 degree oven for approximately 50 minutes. I never know exactly how long a meatloaf is going to take. Just see that it’s browned and make sure the interior is cooked by putting a knife in the middle and see that it comes out clean.

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2009 12:17 am

    You have the healthiest recipes and they all look so tasty!

    I hope you had a good Christmas MonicaJane :-)

  2. December 26, 2009 8:52 am

    This is a gorgeous picture! This sounds like a great meatloaf. I love the pesto and dried tomatoes in it. I’m sure they give it SUCH good flavor.

  3. December 28, 2009 1:48 pm

    I love the oats in there, it sounds wicked good.

  4. December 29, 2009 11:00 am

    Sounds healthy and delicious! I love the picture. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

