Skip to content

Basil from the garden to a bowl of pesto pasta

June 23, 2010
tags:

I put this  post together last year when I was on a shared blog. Since it is indeed the time of year to start harvesting basil I thought I’d throw this up as inspiration to start making my batches of frozen pesto this year.

In our garden

In our garden

Huge colander full of fresh basil

Huge colander full of fresh basil

Pile of fresh cleaned basil next to food processor ready with a bunch of olive oil

Pile of fresh cleaned basil next to food processor ready with a bunch of olive oil

The garlic ready to be coarsely chopped and tossed in

The garlic ready to be coarsely chopped and tossed in

Pine nuts a top of some of the processed basil

Pine nuts a top of some of the processed basil

parmesan/romano a top the pine nuts

parmesan/romano a top the pine nuts

finished! and yes that is the WHOLE pile of basil

finished! and yes that is the WHOLE pile of basil

Fettucine al pesto

Fettucine al pesto

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 9:37 am

    And if I’m not mistaken I was jealous of your basil plants last year too. Heh.

  2. June 23, 2010 10:31 am

    Your basil is so prolific! That bowl of pesto linguine looks delectable to me at the moment. I haven’t had pasta in two weeks and I’m going slightly crazy!

  3. June 23, 2010 6:56 pm

    Oh, that looks good! Pesto was one of things I loved to make when I was gardening. Time to take the last pot out of the freezer…

  4. June 25, 2010 10:26 am

    Lovely plants. The garlic was fat and good looking, I am a BIG fan of garlic.

  5. July 7, 2010 6:18 pm

    I am quite inspired to grow my own herbs and spices for next season, and the idea of making a mass quantity to freeze is very handy indeed. This will allow me to thow together quick gatherings, especially during the holiday season. Well done, monicajane!

  6. July 7, 2010 9:33 pm

    Those herbs look magnificent, a whole pile of basil, wow! That fettuccine pesto looks mouthwatering. I love how the story is told through your pictures. I hope my own pesto looks that good!

  7. July 12, 2010 3:33 pm

    Oh that looks delicious and I love how fresh it is!

  8. Clauni permalink
    July 16, 2010 3:13 pm

    I usually do not add cheese to pesto sauce, since I keep some in the fridge for further occasions, but I am going to try this so well explained recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

