Skip to content

Chicken cooked in a yogurt based curry

September 22, 2010

This was inspired by Joanne at Eats Well with Others. I told her in a comment I would be making her dish today, Murgh Korma or Chicken Cooked in a Yogurt-Almond Sauce …however, true to form, I seem to be constitutionally incapable of following a recipe and it ended up being only an inspiration. Though you’ll see it’s obviously coming from the same place.

My dish used these ingredients:

  • 3 large chicken legs, skinned and cut into drumstick and thigh pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups of plain greek yogurt
  • 4 tbls tamari
  • 1 tbls coconut oil for cooking
  • 1 large onion sliced in thin half circles
  • 5 large cloves of garlic diced
  • 3 tbls almond butter
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 heaping tsp of powdered ginger (I sadly did not have fresh ginger)
  • 10 cardamum pods
  • one bunch fresh cilantro
  • mung bean noodles

I browned the chicken pieces in coconut oil after skinning and cutting them in two. Took them out of the pan a set them aside while sautéing and browning the onion slices and the garlic in the leftover coconut oil.

While they sauteed on low I put the yogurt, almond butter, tamari and the spices (save the cardamum seeds) in a small food processor and blended it all.

Once the onions were soft and lightly browned, I put the chicken back in the pan with the onions and garlic and topped it with the yogurt mixture. I brought it too a simmer and then turned it very low, covered and let it cook for about 40 minutes. The chicken pieces were very large. It’s likely to take less time with smaller chicken pieces.

Once it was cooked I chopped up the whole bunch of cilantro and tossed it on top of the meat and juices.

I cooked the mung bean noodles and tossed those in as well. I prepared about 3 oz of the noodles. I put them in water in a pot on the stove. They do not need to come to a boil. They cook very quickly. When they are softened I simply put them in a collander and cut them up with scissors. They are infinitely long so if you don’t cut them up they will be very difficult to eat. I plopped the noodles into the chicken and juices and mixed it all up.

I’m really loving these noodles and using them in all sorts of things I might otherwise use rice or pasta…they are very versatile.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 12:28 pm

    Ciao Monichina – nam – it sounds good –

    Hugs, kisses, love – Papa`

  2. September 23, 2010 7:39 pm

    We missed your posts! Looks good, I saw this similar one at Joanne’s site too. You make the dishes visually appealing Monica Jane! I need to work on that.

  3. September 25, 2010 6:41 am

    You are free to adapt just about any recipe that I make! I was just so happy you stopped by and commented. Always love to see you posting. I really love your adaptations and am SO going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

