Skip to content

Allergic to ghee? Seems so

April 10, 2011

Okay…first bump in the road.

I went to a lot of trouble to purchase grass-fed butter so that I might have ghee to cook with. I no longer cook with olive oil because the low smoke point means that the oil degrades and oxidizes when heated and is no longer healthy. I only use olive oil on cold foods now or warm foods after they’re off the flame.

Ghee was going to be the answer to that as I’m not fond of using coconut oil for many things although it’s great in a good number of dishes.

I bought many pounds of grass-fed butter since I found a source that was very inexpensive and made about 6 lbs worth of ghee yesterday. It was a HUGE job and I didn’t really know what I was doing. I’m sure after one gets used to it it’s much easier. In any case I made lots of it and then had some with brussel sprouts for dinner.

It seems I had a reaction to it. I am intolerant to milk products I’ve learned relatively recently and that’s clear now that I’ve eliminated them, but most people who are intolerant of dairy can have ghee. I seem to be one of the unlucky few who reacts to the trace amount of solids left in the oil. I got very sick just an hour or two after I had the ghee and was sick most of the night. The symptoms seems to be wearing off now which further indicate it was an allergen that made me “relapse.” I’m very bummed, and yet excited too. This diet is going to make a difference.

If it works as it’s supposed to I should be able to eat ghee and butter and dairy¬†products¬†in general again in a couple of years. If not, I’ll still feel much better for having eliminated dairy one of the foods that makes me sick. Either way it’s a win..

**this might be a premature conclusion but there will be more opportunities to figure it out. For now not eating ghee simply makes sense.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 10, 2011 6:11 am

    Good luck with this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

