Skip to content

Starting the GAPS diet – day 1

April 10, 2011
tags: , ,

I was going to wait longer and prepare more but after getting a seeming reaction to ghee last night (I still think that is what happened) I just decided to start the diet…I want to understand what is going on in my body and the only way I can see doing that now is by eliminating everything and starting over.

So I started today. I still have a lot to learn and I’m still reading the main text, but I have most of the early things I need prepared. I’ve not shared all that info yet, but I will try to soon. (for example I have sauerkraut that I made months ago all ready for introducing early probiotics)

I made an absolutely amazing and delicious meat broth. So good…I like it better than bone stock. It felt like the most nutritious thing in the world…I ate a bowl of soup with meat, marrow, all the connecting tissues on the bones and cauliflower and carrots.

It made me cry. It felt like reconnecting with being human. You know, my family ate stuff like that when I was a kid…I’ve always felt like a weirdo because I like marrow and fat and gristle…

Unfortunately we grow up into a world where we just don’t eat it even if we like it!

In any case I felt like I was coming home.

Healing has begun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 11:15 am

    Good for you! You have been posting up a storm lately! Glad you are on the road to good health!

  2. April 12, 2011 4:41 am

    thanks Tina…
    I’m posting a lot but it would be nice if I could do photos and more explanation…I’m not up to that yet…too much to do in the kitchen…my god…and I still need to rest a whole lot too.

    nice to see you here.

  3. Kassi permalink
    April 20, 2011 11:58 pm

    I like to chomp on bone and eat marrow and cartilage. I only do it at home or among VERY close family. It’s one of the things that makes me seriously socially awkward.

  4. April 21, 2011 6:41 am

    yes…I hear you…I’ve always been like that too and had to refrain in public from embarrassing myself! It’s hard to remember if you’re just enjoying your meal…

    we have that in common…bi-cultural homes where we ate things Americans can’t really cope with! (in general)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

