Skip to content

Rendering beef tallow

May 13, 2011

This is what I’m doing today:

How to Render Beef Tallow

To render beef tallow, you need to get your hands on some raw beef fat.

It’s called suet, and the best stuff for rendering is going to be solid and firm. Most suet comes from the tissue surrounding the kidneys and the loins, but any hard beef fat will do….

I’m letting the above blogger do my job here as I followed his directions in any case. I am going with the oven method. Go read his post.

I got a big three or four lb hunk of suet from our local grass fed beef farm. So far I’ve gotten to the point of shredding it. Now I’m going to go buy a dutch oven because I really don’t have an appropriate dish to put it into the oven. I did some ghee in the oven in casserole pans and it was simply too precarious…lots of hot oil in heavy pans is a wee bit scary. I need something deep with handles!

I’ve not spent any time telling readers how saturated fat has been the subject of a societal wide smear campaign when in fact it’s quite healthy for us. Especially if it’s grass fed because then the Omega 3 to 6 ratio drastically changes. Conventionally raised animals remain problematic since the fat also stores many toxins.

Okay, if anyone expresses interest I’ll tell you how it all pans out in the comments.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    May 13, 2011 12:04 pm

    I’m enjoying following what you are doing, Monica:) I’m not at this place but have started included meat products back into my diet. I’m not following this topic…too new to me…but every little bit helps me to see food in a different way. Baby steps:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

