Skip to content

OMG Good, “spaghetti” and spaghetti sauce for the nightshade (tomato) free and grain-free eater

April 30, 2012

Even if you can eat tomatoes and grains this recipe is a winner! I was very pleased with this. I do a lot of experimenting and this particular “spaghetti” turned out really good. My best effort so far.

_____________________________________________________

So the recipe? As always these are my best guestimates. You’re responsible for tasting and checking to see if the amounts of what you’re using work. I’m not someone who has ever stuck to a recipe and I don’t claim to write them very well. I do cook pretty damn well.

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 2 tbls oil or fat to cook with
  • 1 full head of garlic
  • six carrots
  • one celery plant (ALL the stalks, ribs, whatever you want to call them and the leaves that come with them)
  • 1 small or medium size onion
  • 1/2 (small beet) too much will make your sauce PURPLE
  • 5 fresh rosemary sprigs (substitute dry if you must)
  • thyme (about 1 tbs fresh) if you substitute dry you don’t need as much — that is true of all the herbs)
  • oregano (about 1/2 a tbls)
  • 1 tbls dried basil (or a bit more fresh)
  • 15 sliced Kalamata olives
  • 3 tbls capers
  • salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

I tossed a fairly large spaghetti squash into the oven at 400 degrees for 1 hour. I put them in whole, but one MUST remember to stab them all over with a fork or it will EXPLODE!! yes.

While that is cooking I minced an entire HEAD of garlic and then sauteed it in some beef tallow. One can use any fat/oil of their choice.

While that heated up on low I coarsely chopped six carrots, most of an entire celery plant, half a small beet (that is for color…put too much in and you’ll end up with purple spaghetti sauce!) and the onion and  I tossed them all in the food processor and chopped them up relatively finely…but with some chunkiness left for texture. (I filled up the processor twice)

Once the garlic is sauteed and lightly browned I tossed in the processed veggie mix. Cooking in my stainless steel pot, I put the burner on high long enough to brown the bottom of the veggies at which point I added 3/4 cup of red wine and then turned the pot down and allowed it to simmer.

I went into the backyard and picked 5 fresh rosemary sprigs, and some oregano and thyme. Then I chopped them all up together and it came out to be about 4 tbls of fresh herbs. I also added about 1 tbls dried basil since I didn’t have any fresh one. I added this all to the veggies and wine as they simmered on low.

While that is simmering I got a pound of ground grass-fed and pastured beef and browned it in another pan. Once it was brown I added that to the above mixture. I added salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste.

I allowed that to simmer another 1/2 hour or so at which point I added a whole bunch of chopped parsley (as bought in a bunch at the store). I also added about 15 chopped Kalamata olives and 3 tbls capers. I brought that to high heat and boiling just for a second and then turned it off and left the lid on and let that sit for another 10 minutes or so.

Once the squash is cooked I cut it in half and emptied it. You can add a bit of butter or ghee to it and a bit of parmesan if you eat it. And then top it with the sauce. My husband ate it with a bit of parmesan, I ate it without. We both liked it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2012 10:04 am

    I nominated you for a Food Stories Award. http://foodstoriesblog.com/food-stories-award/ I enjoy reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

