Skip to content

Red wine poached apples

November 9, 2009

apples

Last night I was in one of my relatively rare moods for dessert. We never have much in the house for dessert so when one of these cravings strikes I need to be rather creative. What I made was a brandied poached apple. I didn’t photograph it, but it was so good I wanted to do something like it again tonight for the blog.

I figured I’d use red wine the second time around. As you can imagine the aesthetics are much nicer. I do think I liked the flavor with the brandy poached apples better, but heck, you can’t beat this beautiful red color. It makes for a very nice thing to serve guests, I think. And though the brandy perhaps does win in flavor it’s not by all that much. These were darn good too.

So, this is so easy.

2 apples cored and cut in half (I left peels on as I like them and they are good for us, but do as you prefer)

3/4 cup red wine

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

2 tsp honey

1/4 cup of chopped walnuts

Put the apples face down in the wine and spices in as small a pot as will take all the apples. The deeper the wine the better. If you don’t have a snug pot increase the amount of wine just a bit. You can adjust all the flavors to your liking, as well. Most people would probably want to add more honey.

So bring it all to a boil and then put it on low until the apples are soft. Let cool for a bit and then serve with chopped walnuts sprinkled on top.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

