Skip to content

Lamb shanks in tomato and rosemary with polenta

November 14, 2009

I’ve been wanting to do this meal since Tina did her Nigella lamb shanks. I actually went out and bought a lamb shank that very day and cooked it up, but I had no polenta in the house which is what I had wanted to plate it with. I ate it that night but chose not to do a post until I could serve it with polenta which is what I really wanted to do that night.

I got both lamb shanks and polenta today. The first variation of this dish had carmelized onions and white wine rather than red. I thought that combination made the dish too sweet so this time I left the onions out and used red wine. Otherwise the recipe is the same, but I thought it was far superior this time. It was really really delicious!

Lamb is often served with sweet things so if the first variation appeals to you, it was nice too and I would recommend it for those who like sweetness in their savory food. I simply preferred the version I made tonight.

The lamb:

  • Two (huge–just because that is all my store had, I would rather have gone with four small shanks) lamb shanks
  • 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 8 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • 4 sprigs of rosemary
  • 1 tsp dried hot red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup of red wine
  • salt to taste
Just braised with garlic

Just braised with garlic

Braise the lamb on high with the garlic cloves until browned on both sides. Add all the rest of the ingredients. I covered it for most of the time, but needed to uncover and let the sauce cook down quite a bit at the end so that it would be thick enough.

The polenta:

  • 1 cup of dry polenta — make according to instructions and add
  • 4 oz cheese (optional)
  • Salt to taste
huge plate o' lamb shank that no one human being could ever eat in one sitting

huge plate o' lamb shank that no one human being could ever eat in one sitting

I took this photo after we had eaten dinner and so the polenta is a bit lumpy as it had already congealed. It’s much tastier and delightful when it’s hot and thick and goopy. Looks nicer too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

