Skip to content

Pumpkin soup and roasted pumpkin seeds

November 17, 2009

So to mark the very beginning of fall I’ve made pumpkin soup. It was not premeditated I just felt like making pumpkin soup. In general it’s been a soup I make on Thanksgiving and Christmas but I had a hankering for it the other day and so I bought a pumpkin.

I wish I had taken a picture of the cute little squash before I gutted and roasted it, but I did not so here it is after the fact.

1pump

I halved it then took out the seeds and wrapped the squash in foil. I roasted it at 400 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours. After roasting the pumpkin I turned down the oven to 250 and roasted the pumpkin seeds.

1seeds

These are the seeds before roasting. I lightly rinsed them. I like leaving a bit of the pumpkin goop as it helps the tamari and salt I add to them stick nicely. I roasted them at 250 for several hours until browned and crispy.

2seeds

I eat them whole. They are very yummy.

Now the soup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 smallish pumpkin (I wish I had weighed it but I didn’t)
  • 48 oz vegetable stock
  • 1 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tbls virgin coconut oil
  • 1 large onion
  • 4 large garlic cloves
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbls coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbls dried ginger
  • 1 tbls dried mustard
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • plain yogurt to top the soup with (optional)

Directions:

So roast the pumpkin for an hour and a half or until nice and soft. Let cool a bit.

Saute onion and garlic in coconut oil. Let this cool a bit too once it’s nice and soft.

Toss pumkin in a blender and add enough broth to puree. Do the same with the onions and garlic. Blend one of the batches with all the spices. Mix it all up in a pot and just barely bring to a boil. Turn off and let sit for a few hours. Add the orange juice and reheat when you want to eat it.

If you like top it with the yogurt.

Done.

2pump

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

