Skip to content

Frozen chocolate mousse

December 4, 2009

mousse

This was a total spur of the moment experiment. I generally don’t eat sugar and generally this includes natural forms of sugar such as honey, agave nectar, maple syrup etc.

Every now and then though I get a bit of a bug to have something sweet. Today I got that bug and wondered what I could make. I have raw cocoa powder on hand and thought I might do something with that. I surfed around the web a bit and came up with the below recipe that is a mish-mosh of several different recipes as I did not have all the ingredients for any of the recipes I found online.

I have never been a desert maker and so this was me in the land of big question marks.

Blend in the blender:

  • 14 oz can coconut milk
  • 3/4 cup raw cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1/4 cup raw almond butter

Refrigerate until nicely chilled.

Then mix 6 egg whites until stiff peaks form and fold into the above cold mixture.

This was a goopy but very airy mixture so I chose to freeze it to make it more solid.

Freeze until firm but not solid. Yummy delight. My husband likes it much more than I do and he will be eating the bulk of it, which is fine with me. My sweet tooth generally lasts about 2 or 3 bites. If there are leftovers take out of freezer about 10 minutes before eating as it gets quite hard.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 3:48 pm

    I have a HUGE sweet tooth that would last until all of this frozen chocolate mousse was gone. I love how you use all super natural and non-refined sugar ingredients. And coconut milk. There is no such thing as too much coconut milk.

    • December 5, 2009 4:05 pm

      hey Joanne,
      I actually made this a while ago and have been experimenting with natural, low sugar dessert since then. Yesterday I made some awesome pumpkin custard…I thought of you and your winter squash series, of course. If it’s not too late perhaps you can improve on the idea as it was a rough first attempt for me…tasted great in any case!

  2. December 5, 2009 8:21 pm

    This looks so yummy and your photo is PERFECT!

    • December 5, 2009 8:26 pm

      I must confess this is one of two instances where the photo is not mine. I froze it away in an ugly container before photographing it and so found something through google images that looked somewhat similar…it is genuinely yummy, however. :-)

  3. December 7, 2009 7:36 am

    I love mousse, I’ve never had a frozen one before. Sounds awesome though.

Leave a Reply

