Skip to content

Pumpkin custard

December 7, 2009

The way this dish was created is a bit amusing and  was great fun for me. A friend of mine said he’d found some homemade pumpkin butter in his freezer. I jumped at that idea since I had some frozen roasted pumpkin in my freezer. I asked him for his recipe and he led me here. I made something similar though I used a crock pot for the slow cooking (my friend’s idea) and I used brandy and honey instead of vinegar and sugar. I also used a tiny fraction of the sugar (honey, actually is what I used) so really it’s a very different animal. The original looks delightful, I simply don’t eat sugar like that.

So I ended up with a very delicious pumpkin butter but it was something neither myself nor my husband thought we’d eat plain like that, so I thought what can I do with it? By the way, the brandy gives it a delightful richness. I thought it would make an awesome pie filling, but I didn’t have a crust or anything to make a crust with either. Next I thought of pie without the crust, then I thought custard!

So I looked up pumpkin custard recipes. I looked at many and simply made up my own in the end.

The pumpkin butter that is the base of this custard was made like this:

  • 4 cups roasted pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup brandy
  • 1/4 cup honey

I cooked it on high in the crock pot for about 5 hours and then on low for about 2 hours, until it was cooked down and had a nice canned pumpkin consistency.

I refrigerated that overnight as I didn’t know what I was going to do with it.

Once I decided on the custard I added:

  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp stevia (I don’t have much of a sweet tooth but thought a bit more sweetness might be nice, since there isn’t really much honey in it to begin with. If you like things sweeter by all means add more sugar, honey, or whatever sweetener you like)
  • cinnamon for garnish on top

I poured the resulting mixture into six custard cups. (technically I believe these cups are soufflé cups) I topped them with some sprinkled cinnamon.

I put them in a roasting pan and filled it up with water about 3/4 of the way up to the top of the cups. They cooked at 325 degrees for sometime over an hour. I am terrible about paying attention to time. To test custard for doneness, insert a sharply pointed knife about 1 inch from the side of the cup. Knife should come out clean, but center may still be unset and will continue to cook after removed from the oven.

They turned out incredibly delicious. For a richer dessert you might want to make it with evaporated milk or heavy whipping cream. This was pleasantly light and actually quite healthy too for a dessert. High in protein, veggie and very little sugar.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 10:07 pm

    Nice. You know, the pumpkin puree is one of the few things that made it from the freezer in my old apartment to this place…

    • December 9, 2009 12:16 am

      I’ve got one massive pumpkin left that I plan to roast and save…it’s huge…that will be it for the year…

      but I will be making these again…they were good.

      Hope your move has gone smoothly.

  2. December 8, 2009 10:16 am

    Delicious! I love pumpkin butter although I haven’t ventured into making it myself yet. I do have a crockpot recipe for it that I plan on trying.

    Love the idea for this custard! Puddings/custardy desserts are some of my favorites. And you know how I feel about pumpkin in general.

    • December 9, 2009 12:17 am

      custard/puddings are a favorite for me too. And fruit stuff as well…

  3. September 11, 2010 11:33 am

    DROOOOOL. That looks divine. I saw some wee pumpkins at the farmer’s market today. I may just have to try out your recipe. Thanks, great post!!

Leave a Reply

