Skip to content

French lentil coconut curry

December 11, 2009

I’ve been into coconut milk and oil lately.

Little black lentils...yes these are french lentils

Little black lentils...yes these are french lentils

The ingredients:

  • 2 cups french lentils
  • 3 cups water

Bring water to a full boil. Boil lentils for 20 – 30 minutes until tender but not mushy.

  • 2 tbls coconut oil
  • 1 – 14 oz can coconut milk
  • 1 – 14 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbls fresh ginger root minced
  • 2 tbls coriander
  • 2 tbls dried mustard
  • 2 tsp cayenne
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1 tsp black ground pepper
  • 1 small green cabbage diced
  • 1 large onion diced
  • 4 large garlic cloves diced
  • 1/4 cup tamari

In the coconut oil saute the onions and garlic for few minutes, followed by the cabbage. It’s nice to let the veggies brown a bit but not necessary. Then you can add everything else pretty much in whatever order you like. All measurements are estimates as I cook to taste. So I encourage you to do the same. Use my measurements only as vague guidelines since they are not precise in any case. I did use 2 cups of lentils though and 3 cups of water and the cans of tomatoes and coconut milk are precise sizes as well. Cook the veggies and spices, tomato and coconut milk until it’s all nice and soft.

When the veggie mixture and the lentils both are done combine the two and cook for a few minutes so the flavors will blend.

Serve the hot lentils topped with plain yogurt if you eat dairy. It’s quite delightful.

lentils2

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Wandering Coyote permalink
    December 11, 2009 11:54 am

    Wow, this looks gorgeous, MJ. I love the steamy picture! I have never heard of French lentils before.

  2. December 11, 2009 2:37 pm

    I love coconut milk, but my girlfriend doesn’t like coconut flavor so I don’t get to use it much. The lentils look great though!

  3. December 11, 2009 5:16 pm

    Oh, wow, Monica! This not only looks simply amazing, the use of tamari is a very interesting thing to add to the mix.

    My hat is off to you!

  4. December 11, 2009 8:44 pm

    thanks all…
    WC…I get annoyed with steam and I’m always taking pics while things are still too hot!

    Bob,
    I make certain foods just for myself when Paul doesn’t like something…you could make this and freeze it in lunch sized containers and bring it to work for lunch…I do stuff like that at lunch time a lot for myself.

    Van, thanks!! It’s so totally nice to have you around again!

  5. December 12, 2009 8:38 am

    Coconut milk and lentils are some of my favorite ingredients! That looks absolutely delicious.

  6. December 12, 2009 10:18 am

    Coconut milk and oil basically speak to me. I love those flavors especially infused into a hearty and healthy curry like this. Looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

