Skip to content

Minestrone

December 13, 2009

By definition, most of my soups are some sort of minestrone, literally tranlated as “big soup.” The one I made today, though, made me think of a variation of one of my fathers soups that he would call minestrone which generally had at least beans and pasta in my recollection. This reflects a somewhat traditional use of the word minestrone.

Minestrone

This is what I made.

  • 80 oz stock of your choosing
  • 1 roasted chicken carcass with A LOT of meat left (a good two or three meals were left on this relatively large carcass)
  • 1 – 28 oz of diced tomatoes
  • 1 large red onion
  • 6 cloves garlic diced
  • 2  14 oz cans pinto beans
  • 4 cups of green beans cut in threes
  • 1 whole bunch of celery diced
  • 1 tbls celery seed
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • 8 oz quinoa elbow pasta (any pasta you prefer is fine)

I boiled the chicken carcass in some chicken stock until the meat was falling off the bones.
While that was boiling I browned the onion, garlic and celery in a bit of olive oil. I then took the meat of the chicken and put it back into the broth and added all the rest of the ingredients. I let the flavors blend and the beans cook for a few minutes and then I added the pasta and cooked it until just done.

Oh, I always make a lot of soup and freeze some. This is okay for a large family, otherwise expect leftovers.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Wandering Coyote permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:53 pm

    I had to laugh when I saw “80oz” for some reason. Um, how many litres is that?

    I live minestrone soup and have a pretty good recipe that I have had for years, but haven’t made in ages. I should get it out this winter and make a batch for sure.

  2. December 14, 2009 12:01 am

    yeah, 80 0z is strange…I was using boxes of stock. 32 oz a piece and then I think I had a small box as well that made it into 80 oz…

    I don’t know how to convert to litres unfortunately as I’m a good American…(I’m being sarcastic)

    I don’t know why the hell we never converted…except that Americans do tend to think their way is best even when it’s clearly not as in the case of measurements.

    Tina just made a minestrone too…we can all do our versions and compare.

    • December 14, 2009 12:03 am

      I also always feel self-conscious calling myself American in the company of other people from the American continent…you and our neighbors on the other side seem to be Americans to me as well…but it’s weird to say United Statsians? eh?

      • Wandering Coyote permalink
        December 14, 2009 12:10 am

        Oh, I wouldn’t worry about. I got into it with someone once who insisted I was an American due to the fact that I am NORTH American. I disagree. We all know who we are talking about when we refer to someone as “American” and I was quite insulted when he kept insisting to me I was also an American. I am no longer blog pals with this guy!

        So, let’s not get into too much hair splitting! You are American, I am Canadian. Simple! :)

        OK, how many quarts is 80 oz?

      • December 14, 2009 12:18 am

        a quart is 32 oz…though they mark the boxes in oz. so I just went along.

        you should know with my cooking my measurements are always a bit approximate…because I’ve never used recipes in my whole life except occasionally to get ideas…

        now I use them a lot, but they are still just used for ideas…once I hit the kitchen I generally have nothing written down unless I’m baking.

        I do try to measure everything now since I’m writing recipes, but old habits die hard.

  3. December 14, 2009 7:21 am

    Wow what a perfect soup for the winter. I love minestrone soup. It is so hearty and tasty and perfect to use up whatever veggies you have on hand.

  4. December 14, 2009 2:06 pm

    Sounds awesome. I’m curious though, what does “big soup” mean exactly? Just a big batch? Lots of stuff?

    • December 14, 2009 2:20 pm

      minestra is the word for soup…

      “one” attached to minestra simply means big soup. ANY BIG SOUP.

      that’s an Italian construct in the language…so it’s a generic term meaning large quantity of soup in the literal sense…

      yet, in Italian too, it has the idiomatic meaning we apply to it too which is a soup with many ingredients and more specifically including pasta and beans…did you follow the wiki link?

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minestrone

      ha…I just looked at it again…I basically said just what they did…I didn’t read it closely before

  5. December 14, 2009 11:37 pm

    Hi Monica Jane – I have been having sporadic internet connections – probably due to all the rain we’ve been having. Grrrr…finally was able to add you to my sidebar though. Love your minestrone!

    Soup has always been a great favorite of mine. Very comforting.

Leave a Reply

