Skip to content

Bison stew with fennel and goat cheese

December 15, 2009
The raw ingredients of this delightful meal:
The little bottle in the middle is truffle oil!!

The little bottle in the middle is truffle oil!!

This dish can be made with beef as well. I like bison as it is generally grass fed, humanely raised and hormone free. It’s also lower in fat.

I thought I should make something clear. I know not how to use a recipe…not literally, but I’ve simply never adhered to them in general. I cook, instead, with my gut and have historically had no clue exactly what I do any given time I make something. Everything is always a variation on a theme.

I enter the kitchen with the spirit of adventure and I do have some distinct “guts” that help me achieve exactly what I want often, but other times things turn out quite differently from what I intend—generally when I’m doing something I’ve never done before. So if you are experimenting with my “recipes” try to approach it with that spirit. Because that is frankly how I cook. I have been trying very hard to measure things lately so I can report back accurately.

Doing this blog has taught me a lot as I learn to pay attention to what I’ve generally done by instinct alone. It’s been really fun, but I’m far from perfect in paying attention. It’s a good sort of way to practice mindfulness.

The secret to food always being tasty is the quality and combination of ingredients. Where things differ from my intent most often is in texture, which can be very annoying at times, but, nonetheless, I tend to end up with something edible.

The Recipe

  • 3 lb bison roast (this of course can vary depending on your needs) I had to cut up the roast into chunks for stew as the market did not have stew meat. I had my husband and sous chef help with this.
  • one large onion (diced or slice in thin half circles)
  • 2 or 3 large fennel roots (sliced in thin half circles)
  • 2 lbs mushrooms (sliced thin)
  • 1 cup of white wine
  • One large log of goat cheese
  • 1 tablespoons dried tarragon (I’ve never cooked with fresh tarragon–if you can do that you’d use less)
  • Salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste.
  • Slice the onions, fennel and mushrooms and saute on medium high heat to brown just a tad.

Brown the meat in some olive oil or organic butter in a separate pan–do not cook thoroughly, just brown it on high.

Combine the meat and the veggies and toss about in a large pot.

Pour the cup of wine over it and cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Add salt and pepper anywhere along the way as needed. I do suggest you put at least some of the pepper in early on as it’s nice if it cooks with it for a while. You may find you need a bit more at the end.

After 20 minutes check and see how much liquid is there. You’ll want to uncover and simmer the liquid down to below the surface of all the goodies. (perhaps half way below or a little less–cook the meat up to an hour—if you use other cuts of meat or beef you may want to cook longer)

When it’s all done stir in the goat cheese and put in a teaspoon of truffle oil–more or less to taste. (this is optional—I only have truffle oil right now because my sister gave it to me as a gift. It’s outrageously expensive!)

Have fun!!

I don’t have a picture of the final product because they just didn’t turn out. It was pretty and creamy and tasty though.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Wandering Coyote permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:49 am

    Sounds good, MJ! I actually eat buffalo quite regularly and I really prefer it to beef.

  2. December 15, 2009 3:40 pm

    I love bison, I’ll have to see if the store near my new place carries it.

    Heh, I’ve had similar experiences with blogging forcing me to actually measure stuff and write it down. Now if I could only keep track of all the scraps of paper I write everything down on…

  3. December 15, 2009 9:39 pm

    I love bison, and also would pick that over beef any day! And this makes such a good fall/winter dish.

  4. December 16, 2009 9:02 am

    I REALLY want to try bison, especially after seeing this recipe. I have such guilt over eating non-grass fed beef and this would totally be the way to avoid this. Delicious with the goat cheese.

    I loved your description of your cooking method. I tend to start out with an idea from a recipe and then alter it to fit my own tastes. Sometimes keeping track of things can help you remember what flavor combinations worked and what didn’t, so it can be kind of a burden but definitely useful at times!

  5. December 16, 2009 8:25 pm

    Your bison stew is packed with great flavors. Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)

  6. December 16, 2009 10:01 pm

    @Joanne

    You are missing out if you’ve never had bison! Not only that, Monica has great recipes to start with.

  7. December 16, 2009 11:21 pm

    thanks everyone…yes, it seems we’re all in agreement that bison is special…Joanne, you should definitely try it…

    Karine,
    I don’t think you’ve visited before, so it’s good to see you. I actually read your blog always, though I don’t always leave comments…

    you have a very nice aesthetic I enjoy!

  8. Kass permalink
    December 17, 2009 12:09 pm

    Sounds delicious, M. I’ll probably give it a try in the new year when I can get bison from the local farmer’s market.

  9. December 17, 2009 4:35 pm

    I really want to try bison! Your recipe sounds delicious.

  10. December 18, 2009 2:46 pm

    Oh now you have me curious….all these comments about bison, I have to get some. Love the photography and the recipe is great.

Leave a Reply

