Skip to content

Festive winter root veggies

December 18, 2009

Before cooking

I found the recipe that inspired this dish from Dr. Weil . I pretty much did exactly what he suggested but I only used some of the veggies he suggested. I didn’t include potatoes, as I accidentally used all of them for the potato soup I made and then I forgot the carrots.

The yellow veggie is a beet. I didn’t use red beets.

This is what I did:

  • 2 turnips
  • 5 small parsnips
  • 1 super large golden beet
  • 1 very large red onion cut into 6 large pieces and divided up some
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • 12 cloves of garlic (which I cooked with the veggies from beginning to end unlike Weil’s recipe)
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • Olive oil to taste
  • Balsamic vinegar to taste

I mixed everything but the balsamic up at the beginning and then roasted the whole thing in a roasting pan. I added the balsamic towards the end of the roasting time. I’m sorry but I didn’t notice how long it took, maybe and hour or an hour and a half.

root

I’ve been cooking lots of new things but posting old stuff because cooking is taking all my time. Soon I will have a whole slew of new stuff to post. Just got to get down to doing the posts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 11:06 pm

    I love roasted vegetables. Never thought about using balsamic and that is a great idea. I love the parsnips quite a bit…they are all good roasted though…the sweet potato, parsnips..yum!

Leave a Reply

