Skip to content

Egg drop soup — favorite Chinese soup is so easy to make at home!

December 19, 2009

Ann at A Thousand Soups, a blog I’ve been reading since long before I started a cooking blog myself made egg drop soup not long ago. Hers looks more authentic and I’m sure the fact that I didn’t use corn starch accounts for mine being a bit cloudy. None the less I was pleased with mine and if nothing else it is a demonstration of how to be flexible in the kitchen when missing a vital ingredient. Corn starch certainly is signature in this dish, and yet, I totally loved my substitute too. I was very pleased at myself for making one of my very favorite soups that I’ve simply never tried to make before, despite the fact that it is very very easy! I need to thank Ann, though, for prompting me to finally do it.

Undoctored version

I made it a bit differently than Ann in a number of ways. I added an extra egg as I wanted it to be a light meal. I then at the end added tamari and red pepper flakes along with the green onions that always appear on the soup. I always doctor it up in similar fashion at Chinese restaurants too.

So this is what I used and did:

  • 4 cups soup stock
  • 3 eggs beaten
  • 2 tablespoons flour (I used my whole grain rye flour and I’m always amazed it doesn’t alter flavor more, but it’s a very neutral flour strangely enough. You should use corn starch if you have it — I always get non-GMO corn products, but if you want to use flour I imagine you can use whatever you like)

To garnish at the end:

  • red pepper flakes
  • tamari or soy
  • sliced green onion

So I pretty much followed Ann’s directions. I brought most of the 4 cups of stock to a boil. I saved some to mix into the flour and stirred into a runny concoction which I stirred into boiling stock. When the stock and flour was also boiling I stirred the soup rapidly and poured in the beaten eggs slowly while continuing to stir quickly. I imagine it’s key to keep on rapidly stirring. As soon as the egg was all poured and stirred I took it off the heat.

The way I ate it!

The fastest and easiest soup you can imagine, with a big pay off of being wonderfully comforting!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 9:37 am

    I love conquering restaurant recipes. It feels like such an accomplishment. And will probably save you money. This looks fantastic! An excellent rendition of egg drop soup. I like how you doctored it up…tamari and red pepper flakes are some of my favorite things.

    • December 20, 2009 9:21 pm

      yes it brought be quite a lot of pleasure considering how darn easy it was!

  2. Fall79 permalink
    December 20, 2009 12:01 pm

    You could try a variety on this: chinese corn soup. It’s just the same, but you add a can of creamed corn (or puree corn kernels with some milk). Sometimes I add even some more milk so it gets a fuller taste.

    • December 20, 2009 9:21 pm

      endless varieties I’m sure if you think about what one might add…

      good thing being that variety is the spice of life…

      sometimes simplicity is best too…

      though corn alone keeps it simple certainly

  3. December 20, 2009 8:52 pm

    That soup looks comforting! I would love a large bowl in this cold weather.

  4. Excellent permalink
    June 17, 2011 6:04 pm

    Excellent read seeing that I was unsure what to do and just discovered my own solution :-)

Trackbacks

  1. Sicilian dandelion soup — my interpretation « Cucina Naturale

Leave a Reply

