Skip to content

Oil cured olive pesto on spaghetti

January 1, 2010

God, does this look as good to someone who’s never had this dish? I made this a couple of weeks ago and am wanting more right now as I look at this picture. It’s so good. (just had my husband look at this and he gave me the reality check that it doesn’t look so good to someone who’s not had it. I assure you it’s wonderful!)

There isn’t much of a recipe…

You start with oil/salt cured black olives like these:

These are conveniently pitted, but if you can’t find them pitted pitting them oneself isn’t too difficult. Squash the olive with the flat side of a butcher knife and the pit comes out quite easily. My grandfather and father used to make these when I was growing up so I’m intimately knowledgeable about this dish literally from the olives on the tree into the pasta plate.

Take the pitted olives and put them in a small food processor and add just enough oil to puree them. It doesn’t take much really. Then mix it into hot, just drained pasta. It’s so good and so easy and I hadn’t eaten it in years. I’ll be eating it again soon. Buon apetito.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 1:28 pm

    If you’re an olive lover, like myself, then yes this looks absolutely amazing. I love how easy it is – TWO ingredients. Perfect.

    Happy New Year Monica and thanks so much for the sweet comment on my blog. I look forward to spending the next year (plus many more) reading about all of the delicious food that you cook. We can eat the world together :D.

  2. January 1, 2010 2:33 pm

    The olives look luscious……yeas, this does look like a good meal.

    Happy New Year Monica!

  3. January 4, 2010 9:15 pm

    This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing :)

  4. April 20, 2010 9:20 am

    Wow, I love this recipe so much I’m going to cook it later this week and pinch it for my blog, duly credited and linked of course! Pure simplicity.
    Brian

    • April 20, 2010 9:39 am

      ah you get it! I love that…
      looking forward to your post and impressions once you taste the heaven that is this dish.

Leave a Reply

