Skip to content

Tarragon Chicken with goat cheese

January 3, 2010

I’ve been doing lots of things with chicken leg quarters lately, because,  I get this stuff cheap and when one buys only natural and non-factory farmed meats one needs to go with what they can afford. Luckily, I love these succulent legs and would buy them over very expensive chicken breasts most of the time anyway. What happens though is I have less variety in the cuts of meat I eat, so here again is a chicken dish that I basically stew and throw the sauce over pasta. Or in this instance. as you can see, I tossed the pasta in the sauce with the chicken.

tarragon

  • 3 large chicken quarters cut in pieces and skinned
  • 2 very large purple onions cut in thin half circles
  • 4 large cloves of garlic diced
  • 3 tbls butter
  • flour to dredge the chicken in
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 2 tbls lemon juice
  • 2 tbls dried tarragon
  • 4 oz fresh goat cheese
  • generous amounts of fresh ground black pepper
  • Salt to taste

Saute onions and garlic to the point of caramelization. I used very large onions. Starting with what looks like too much is just fine when you caramelize as it cooks down to practically nothing. I sauteed them in 2 tbls of the butter.

In a separate pan I browned the chicken also in butter which I had first dredged in flour. Once the chicken was browned I dumped the onion on top of it, put in the wine, lemon, tarragon, salt and pepper while it was on a high flame. I then lowered the flame to quite low and covered it and let it cook for about 35 minutes until the meat was tender and falling away from the drumsticks.

At this point I added the goat cheese with the flame off. I cooked 8 oz of brown rice pasta and tossed it in. It was very good.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 6:25 am

    Quarters are always on sale here – this looks like another good one I would love to try. This week my meals are mostly planned but chicken is usually on our menu!

  2. January 4, 2010 7:19 am

    Chicken legs have way more flavor than breasts anyway! I have never had tarragon (one of the few herbs I’ve never tried) but I really need to give it a go! Sounds great with the goat cheese…and I love anything with pasta.

  3. January 4, 2010 3:46 pm

    Three favorites in one! This looks so yummy and I love quarters – the flavor is so much better than breasts.

  4. January 4, 2010 7:29 pm

    I greatly prefer dark meat in both chicken and turkey, yes! Love that there are so many of us…

  5. January 6, 2010 11:36 am

    Wow, just came across your site. Many great ideas. And chicken legs are the best. Cannot wait to try it.

  6. January 6, 2010 11:40 am

    This looks so tasty!

Leave a Reply

