Skip to content

Enchilada casserole

January 4, 2010

Back to my 101 ways to cook my grass fed ground beef that I get for a steal and of which I have many approximate 1 lb packages in my fridge.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 package of corn tortillas
  • 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted organic tomatoes)
  • 1 large onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 3 jalepeno peppers (out of the garden — reaching the end of our harvest for this year)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 10 oz grated cheese (I used half garlic/herb jack and half pepper jack)
  • Salt to taste
Beef in the enchilada sauce

So I sauteed the onion, garlic and jalepeno until very soft. Browned the meat once they were cooked. Then I added the tomato and the cumin. Very simple and straight forward. I salted this mixture as well.

Bottom layer of corn tortillas (2 layers thick)

I put 2 layers of corn tortillas on the bottom of the pan.

First complete layer of casseroleFirst complete layer of casserole

Then I put a layer of the meat sauce and then a layer of cheese as pictured. I topped that with another double layer of tortillas and another layer of meat and cheese. I topped that all with one layer of tortillas. I covered the dish at this point and baked it for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Once hot and cooked through I uncovered it and topped in with a final layer of cheese which I put under the broiler for a few minutes.

Fresh out of the ovenFresh out of the oven

Here I am about to eat it. I took this picture in my lap!! I hadn’t intended on photographing it, but my husband served it and I thought it looked nice. Unfortunately it’s blurry!

ready to eat
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 11:46 pm

    Hey, if you have too much grass fed beef I’ll take some off your hands. ;) The casserole looks wicked good, in fact it reminds me of something my mom used to make. And that’s high praise!

  2. January 5, 2010 1:04 pm

    Enchiladas in casserole form seem so much tastier to me than regular enchiladas. I’m not quite sure why….

    Either way, these look fantastic. What a great use for ground beef!

  3. January 6, 2010 8:53 am

    Wow!This sounds awesome! What a comfort meal!

  4. January 6, 2010 7:46 pm

    Yum, that looks delicious!

  5. January 6, 2010 8:49 pm

    thanks everyone…

  6. January 9, 2010 2:45 am

    I couldn’t take my eyes off that final layer of cheese!I love your photos!

Leave a Reply

