Skip to content

Roasted Beet Salad

January 6, 2010

beet salad

This is a very easy and tasty salad.

I used two very large beets, but as you can see it’s still a relatively small salad. Good for two to four servings depending on size. I don’t generally feel inclined to pig out on beets even though I love them.

I cut off the tops and the bottom and placed them in a baking dish bottoms down.

I roasted the beets at 450 for about an hour and a half. Roasting time will vary according to the size of the beet. They are done when the skin is wrinkly and starts to come apart from the flesh of the beet at the top. The bottom of the beet the skin generally remains attached.

Let the beets cool for a while and then peel and cut them in large bite size pieces and place in a bowl.

I added:

  • red onion sliced in half-circles.
  • Whole mint leaves.
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt and pepper

All those ingredients can really be used to your taste. I didn’t measure anything, I simply tossed them in until it looked and tasted good.

A great variation to this salad is to toss in some crumbled goat cheese.

Below is a before picture of the beets. As you can see they are very large. They did not come with greens which is a great shame as beet greens are delicious too, though, in general, you eat them separately.

raw whole beets

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 12:16 am

    My girlfriend has been dancing around trying beets again. She hasn’t since she was a kid, but she also hasn’t quite gotten over how little she cared for them then. Heh. The salad sounds tasty, nice and simple.

  2. January 7, 2010 1:13 pm

    Oh beets. How I so want to love thee.

    You are so pretty. Salad looks fantastic.

    There are definitely veggies that I pig out on…sweet potatoes, broccoli, winter squash…but I suppose it’s better than pigging out on chocolate. There’s only so much damage you can do!

  3. January 10, 2010 9:19 am

    I am not a huge beets fan, but my mom loves that vegetable. I will try that recipe for her.

  4. January 10, 2010 4:32 pm

    Beets are rather highly priced at our local market but goodness knows, I love ’em. They are so good roasted.

Leave a Reply

