Skip to content

Two variations of fancy mac and cheese

January 10, 2010

This is another dish that I do very many variations on. I like the cabbage and onion, but then I do all sorts of variations on the cheese. I use cottage cheese or plain yogurt for example along with a mix of real cheeses sometimes. This was a version I did a while back. Below is a second version that includes some turkey sausage.

1cass

Ingredients

  • 1 small cabbage sliced in relatively small pieces
  • 2 onions diced
  • 8 oz Quinoa pasta shells (that link is just to show you the brand. It’s available in most health food stores. I’ve gotten questions addressed to me off the blog about gluten-free pasta) you can of course use any pasta you want to use for this recipe.
  • 6 oz soft goats cheese
  • 3/4 cup sheep milk grated pecorino
  • 3 large eggs
  • salt and pepper to taste

Saute cabbage and onion until very soft. Let cool for a while. Add goats cheese, pecorino, salt and pepper and three eggs.

Boil the pasta (this can be done while you are sauteing the veggies. Cook the pasta VERY al dente as it will be baking with other ingredients and can finish cooking in the oven. This helps avoid it getting too mushy.

Once the pasta is drained, mix it in with the veggies, cheese and eggs.

Turn it all into a casserole pan and cook at 350 until browned.

2cass

To clarify: I used a green cabbage and you really can’t tell by looking at the pic how much there is. There is quite a lot. The onions I used were red. You can use any onion and cabbage as you prefer.

Version number two:

I made another version today. You can see how I just mess around with ingredients. Last time I made it my husband suggested I add sausage. I agreed that sounded good so today I added turkey sausage and I used different cheeses.

I cooked a pound of turkey sausage and used 8 oz of cheddar. I also added a bit of thyme. The sausage was very savory as well. I added an extra egg and some milk this time too. I only boiled the pasta for two minutes before putting it in the casserole. It cooked the rest of the way in the oven. I used elbow pasta this time instead of the shells above.

Both my husband and enjoyed it and a friend had some with us as well.

Bloggers, please forgive me. I’ve not been getting around to make rounds, though I have your stuff all saved in my reader.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 7:24 am

    There is just so much you can do with mac and cheese. I love it. You have given me new ideas though!

    By the way, we were shooting for summer for a parkway visit and I will definitely let you know! Are you near Little Switzerland area? Grandfather Mountain?

  2. January 11, 2010 9:27 am

    Yeah, I’m loving pasta casseroles in general…they go into a different category then mac and cheese quite often…

    I’m in Asheville, so yes that’s pretty close by….Asheville is fairly small so if you look at a map you’ll see where I am. Do let me know when you’re here!

    • January 11, 2010 11:31 pm

      That would be great to get by there and see you! I haven’t been to Asheville in years.

  3. January 11, 2010 10:31 am

    I love mac and cheese!!!! The quinoa pasta shells sound interesting. I will be looking for those.

  4. January 11, 2010 11:12 am

    If you can eat wheat I’d stick with traditional pasta…I’m sensitive to wheat and it does not agree with me…

    The quality of non-wheat pastas leave much to be desired if you appreciate good pasta…and I do being that I’m a good Italian girl.

  5. January 11, 2010 12:35 pm

    Oh man, I love real mac and cheese. My girlfriend will only eat the crap from a box with a powder packet. I love the idea of cabbage in there.

  6. January 11, 2010 1:26 pm

    These both look super delicious and also super innovative. Is there any way to go wrong with mac and cheese though? I think not.

Leave a Reply

