Skip to content

Creamy potato soup

January 24, 2010

2pot
This is a variation on a soup I made a lot many years ago. A friend of mine gave me the idea.  I used to make it all the time! I’ve made three times again recently with variations which I will include in the recipe for options.

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium sized  potatoes washed and cut up but not peeled (potato skins are very good for you and I happen to think they add flavor too. Red skins are also pretty. I’ve made this with both red potatoes and a golden one as well)
  • 1 large onion (I sometimes omit the onion for a more intense garlic experience…you can of course go the other way around too)
  • 10 cloves garlic
  • 3 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 48 oz vegetable stock
  • 1 lb goat cheese (get creative here. I’ve used cottage cheese as well which makes for a lighter soup, and this last time I used a quart of milk and half a pound of goat cheese)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Cut the potatoes  fourths and boil in stock. Saute garlic and onions until lightly browned and soft and then toss them into the potato and stock. I took the rosemary leaves off the stems and put them into the boiling potatoes too. I boiled everything until the potatoes were just starting to fall apart.

I let it all cool for a bit and then pureed the whole shebang in a blender while adding cheese and/or milk. Sometimes additional stock or water is needed.

This is an addictive soup…it’s heavenly! I generally can’t stop eating it and so I tend to freeze a good portion to avoid over-eating!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 4:26 pm

    Ooo, I’ve never had potato soup with goat cheese in it. That sounds awesome.

  2. January 25, 2010 1:25 pm

    This soup sounds delicious! I’m loving all the cheese it has.

  3. January 25, 2010 1:38 pm

    That looks delicious! I don’t love goat cheese, so I would love to try it with cottage cheese.

  4. February 1, 2010 4:59 pm

    WOW! That is a LOT of cheese.

    Did you also add milk (I noticed you say one can…) After doing Peter’s (of Greek Food and Beyond) Creamy Asparagus Soup I thought I was done for the year. Not so. This one is on the list.

    • February 1, 2010 5:03 pm

      yay…not that much cheese really it’s a lot of soup…though I cut the cheese in half if I add milk…just play with it and do it to your tastes…

      if you use cream or milk you can put a lot less cheese

Leave a Reply

