Skip to content

Simple yellow squash with tomatoes

January 26, 2010

yellowsquash

Ingredients are minimal in this tasty and easy dish.

  • 4 yellow squash
  • Fresh garlic diced — to tasteI always use a lot
  • can of whole or diced tomatoes — if you use whole tomatoes as I did here I smashed them one at a time with my hand as I put them into the dish (yeah, I like to get dirty in the kitchen.) I didn’t want there to be lots of extra water/juices in this dish and since the squash lets off lots of water too while cooking, I only put in the tomatoes and not the juices. I saved the juices in the refrigerator to use in something else. Waste not want not.
  • Salt to taste
  • Red chili flakes
  • Olive oil
  • Fresh basil

Browned garlic in olive oil, tossed in sliced squash and turned the heat up high. Tossed the squash around on the high heat until it started looking a bit wilted. Crushed the tomatoes one by one into the squash. Kept heat high in order keep the liquids coming out of the veggies evaporating.

Toss in salt and red chili flakes to taste as well as the basil. Off season I use my frozen pesto instead of basil.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 4:03 pm

    Sounds good to me, bet it would be great on some jasmine rice.

  2. January 26, 2010 10:17 pm

    Love it…I do that combo quite a bit. It’s a hit here.

  3. January 27, 2010 11:21 am

    Love simple dishes with a lot of flavor!!!! That sounds delicious.

  4. January 27, 2010 4:53 pm

    So THIS is why I have that pesto still sitting in my freezer. I knew I was saving it for a reason…

Leave a Reply

