Skip to content

Pork Stir-Fry

January 30, 2010

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb pork butt cut up in bite size pieces
  • 1/2 shredded purple cabbage
  • 3 or 4 bunches of baby bok choy cut up
  • 4 cloves garlic diced
  • tamari (or soy) sauce to taste (I use quite a lot)
  • 2 tsp or more to taste red chili flakes
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

I used coconut oil in this dish. Just enough to help saute the garlic. Maybe 1 tsp. I’m trying to switch to coconut oil completely for any high heat cooking. Unfortunately my Italian roots (and taste buds) are strong and I simply can’t trade out coconut oil for olive oil every single time for dishes that for me demand olive oil. But this dish certainly does not demand olive oil and in fact does much better with just about anything but. Deliciously Organic has a good synopsis on why coconut oil is preferable for high heat cooking here.

So I started this by sauteing the garlic for a bit. Then the meat followed. Once the meat was close to completely cooked and browned I added the cabbage and, lastly the bok choy, as it can over-cook quite easily. While the veggies are cooking I throw in the tamari  and the red pepper flakes. This is easy and delicious.

I served it over brown rice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 1:55 pm

    Sounds great. I’ve never used coconut oil, I’ll have to get my hands on some.

  2. January 31, 2010 10:58 am

    I love stir fries. I’ve never had coconut oil but I bet it infused this was such a great, tropical flavor.

  3. May 11, 2010 5:06 pm

    Stir fries are one of my favorite dishes to make, although i have never used coconut oil in my recipes. would a sesame seed oil be just as good for a stir fry?

Leave a Reply

