Skip to content

Chicken, bacon and other delightful stuff thrown over pasta

February 23, 2010

This dish was inspired by Tina’s dish, but I made quite a few changes as you’ll see. Hers was a baked dish and mine was a stovetop dish as well. I imagine the end results were quite different even if the initial ingredients were quite similar. I was extremely pleased with how this turned out, but I owe much to Tina as I would never have thrown these ingredients together otherwise.

Ingredients:

  • 4 pieces of chicken (I had two leg quarters cut in half)
  • one large onion diced
  • 6 strips of bacon chopped in one inch pieces
  • 1 tbls prepared mustard with seeds
  • 1 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/2 cup of white wine
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 oz goat cheese (melted into sauce at very end)

I browned the onion and bacon together and then added the chicken and browned that as well in the bacon fat. (at this point if there is extra bacon fat you may want to remove it)

I stirred the mustard into the wine and poured it over the chicken along with the tarragon, salt and pepper. I lowered the heat to a slow simmer and cooked the chicken for 30 minutes. When done I added the cheese. I tossed the pasta with the sauce and put a piece of chicken on the side. We had a wonderful tossed green salad with avocado on the side.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 10:21 pm

    I love the idea of just starting with someone else’s recipe and seeing where it takes you. Delicious looking dish!

  2. February 23, 2010 10:25 pm

    for better or worse it’s pretty much all I ever do…I find it almost impossible to stick to a recipe…

    I generally use recipes only for inspiration and then do my own thing…I’m sure sometimes I lose out…

  3. February 24, 2010 12:23 am

    Thanks for the shout out! This dish, and yours by the looks of it, is afavorite now. Easy and delicious.

  4. February 24, 2010 12:58 am

    Well I don’t see anything not to like about that. Definitely getting filed away.

  5. February 24, 2010 1:31 pm

    Si`, pupina, recipe sounds good….maybe I’ll try my own variation.

    I hope you get well, hugs and kisses =

  6. March 7, 2010 10:44 pm

    Hey! Where have you been lately? I hope your weather is better…not so much cold these days!

Leave a Reply

