Skip to content

Rye and muesli raisin nut loaf (or brick)

March 11, 2010

Tina, this is for you since you asked after me. It’s true I’ve not been around. I have made your bread twice since you made it but never posted it. I made quite a few changes. This was the second loaf which I particularly loved. It is indeed a very heavy loaf. I joke and call it a brick. But, oh my, it’s really delicious!! My husband loved it too. It’s great straight out of the oven especially and  then toasted the next day.

My guess is most people wouldn’t like this, however, I do think those who would like it will know who they are!

In any case, it truly is a lazy cook’s bread. My kind of bread. I really know nothing about bread and was easily pleased.

  • 2 ¾ cups bread flour (I used whole grain rye flour)
  • 2 cups oaty unsugared muesli (this includes raisins, dates and nuts in my mixture)
  • 1 cup additional raisins
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 ½ teaspoons or 1 package rapid-rise or instant yeast
  • 1/8 cup organic sugar
  • 1 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup water

Mix flour, muesli,  yeast and salt and cinnamon in a bowl. Stir that up to get the yeast nicely spread out and then add the additional raisins and nuts.

Pour in the milk and water, and then stir to mix. It will be thick…very thick. (as Tina wrote…I’ve  lifted  some of this from your post!)

Transfer to a greased loaf pan. (note: neither time I’ve made it have I greased it well enough and had some problems with sticking) Put in a cold oven, turning it immediately to 225 degrees. Leave at this temperature for 45 minutes.

After 45 minutes, turn temp up to 350 and leave for 1 hour. It should be golden brown and done by then. Slip it out of the pan and let cool. This is incredibly dense bread.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 2:41 pm

    Interesting, I’ve never seen a bread made like this, starting the oven at 225 and such. Heh, it looks like a giant protein bar. I bet I would like it though and definitely want to try out that method.

    • March 11, 2010 2:54 pm

      the 225 oven is so the rapid-rise yeast can work, I’m pretty sure…

  2. March 11, 2010 8:07 pm

    Hey sweetie! I’m sorry for never answering your email. I kept meaning to and then time just got away from me. I actually wasn’t the girl in that video although I can definitely see the resemblance!

    I hope all is well with you. I miss your fabulous food.

    This bread looks excellent! I’m all about adding whole grains to things. Muesli? I’m in!

  3. March 12, 2010 7:07 am

    Your bread looks much better than mine…yours came out very pretty!

  4. March 12, 2010 1:59 pm

    Si` Monicuzzola. avevo capito che il forno a 225 era per permettere al lievito di crescere.

    Spero che tu stia bene, io sto come al solito.

    Abbracci e bacini – Papa`

Leave a Reply

