Skip to content

Beef brisket roasted with garlic and onion

March 17, 2010

I really wanted to make corn beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s day. It’s one of my favorite holiday meals and the only time I ever eat corn beef. I buy all naturally cured humanely grown grass-fed beef and this year we got to the market too late. I was actually expecting problems as we waited until last night to purchase it. The corn beef had sold out. My husband bought me a brisket instead, which is the same cut of beef but it’s not cured like the corn beef.

I’ve never made a brisket though I’ve eaten it at my Jewish friends homes a number of times. One of my friends mom made one that was absolutely brilliant.

I simply bounced around the net as I usually do and came up with the below recipe. I don’t imagine it resembles a classic Jewish brisket at all, though I really don’t know.

While this cooked in the oven I put cabbage and potatoes in the crock pot with the some of the beef stock and salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar. So we’re still almost having a classic St. Patrick’s day meal.

  • 2.5 lbs beef brisket
  • 15 cloves garlic
  • one large onion cut in thin half circles
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar (really I used something shy of a quarter cup)
  • 2 cups beef stock
  • copious amounts of fresh ground black pepper
  • salt

Sear the generously salted and peppered brisket on high in a dutch oven in some butter. Brown the garlic and onion in the remains after transferring the brisket into a dutch oven or similar pot. (I need to get a proper dutch oven…I had to do the browning in another pot and transfer it to a oven container with a lid)

Once the garlic and onion is browned on high, but not thoroughly cooked add some of the stock and get the brown bits up with a spoon. Add the oregano and basil as well and stir. Put all of this on top of the roast.

Cook for an hour at 325 degrees and then for another additional 2 hours at 300 degrees. Check the roast and once it’s falling apart tender you can take it out. Earlier than the total 3 hours if need be.

I pureed the garlic and onion into the juices to make a gravy. If you want to thicken it you can add a bit of flour. It was quite yummy. The gravy came out mildly tangy from the balsamic vinegar and I really liked it. If you don’t think you’d like that you can use red wine instead of balsamic. I was nervous using the balsamic but the end result made me happy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 3:12 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had Jewish style brisket, although I might have and just not known it. Traditional or not this looks great.

    I recently got the 6.5 quart Chefmate (Tramontina) dutch oven, it’s great. It’s also only about 40 bucks. The lid handle is plastic, but you can just swap it with a 2$ metal doorknob from any hardware store and that makes it completely oven safe.

  2. March 17, 2010 7:17 pm

    I’m not Jewish either but I absolutely LOVE brisket. There are so many good Jewish delis around here that serve it, but I’ve been dying to make my own. This recipe sounds fantastic!

Leave a Reply

