Skip to content

Baked calamari with cornbread crumbs (cornbread recipe included)

April 3, 2010

I don’t have a recipe for this. I threw it together on the fly, as they say. It was so amazingly delicious I have to share anyway. It’s easy and straight forward so I think if you are drawn to it as a dish you will be able to wing it.

I had a small amount of squid. I often buy 1/2 lbs of calamari as my husband isn’t a fan and I am so I make relatively small amounts for myself. The biggest reason I’m not providing a recipe is because I would expect to make considerably larger amounts for others.

So I had my half pound of squid and I wanted to do something different. I generally do this all the time. I cruised around looking for recipes and nothing was appealing to me. I’m not really sure where I came up with this because it didn’t resemble anything I looked at.

I thought of breadcrumbs. I don’t eat wheat and since I can’t buy breadcrumbs anymore I’ve been making them when I make my gluten-free corn bread. I’ve not put a recipe for my cornbread on the blog before but I do a corn meal and brown rice flour mix that turns out heavenly. I always save the end of it to turn into bread crumbs which I then freeze.

So this recipe calls for homemade cornbread crumbs. Ah, what the heck, I’ll throw in the corn bread recipe too!

  • 1 cup milk or milk substitute of your choice
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup (most people put more sweetener in their cornbread)

In a separate bowl mix together:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt

(I often add various ingredients like 3/4 cup small cubes of cheddar and 3 or 4 jalepenos or alternatively rosemary for an herbed bread–get creative, it’s nice and the breadcrumbs still come out just fine!)

Combine the wet and dry ingredients and mix well, then pour into 8 in square baking pan that has been oiled. Bake at 400F for 25 minutes.

So I cut the calamari up in thirds and put them in a small baking pan, then I cut up about 3 cloves of garlic and sprinkled them on top. I mixed 1/4 cup of grated pecorino cheese into the bread crumbs and then poured a relatively generous amount of melted butter into them and tossed them all up. They went on top of the calamari. I baked them for about 30 minutes total mixing in the bread crumbs at about 15 minutes and then briefly broiling it at the very end. It was REALLY good.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 7:20 pm

    The breadcrumbs must have provided such a nice textural contrast to the squishy squid! Looks like a winning dish.

  2. April 5, 2010 1:53 pm

    Interesting. Calamari is something I’ve been meaning to try since getting into seafood, I don’t think I’ve ever seen it paired with cornbread before.

  3. April 8, 2010 10:00 pm

    Very nice combo of flavors. I’ll just go get a plate…..

  4. April 16, 2010 1:17 pm

    I just wanted to stop by and thank you for your super sweet comment on my blog! It’s nice to know you’re reading and I hope to see some delicious food from you soon (no pressure)!

  5. May 10, 2010 12:14 pm

    Calamari is one of my favorite seafood. This is a great recipe. I have never thought of baking it.

Trackbacks

  1. Vanju's Deep Fried, Perfectly Seasoned Calamari | Yes, We Cook!

Leave a Reply

