Skip to content

Gazpacho soup…getting into the spirit of summer a little early

April 23, 2010

A thousand soups posted  a recipe for a cold vegetable soup today. I remembered this post, but apparently never moved it over to this blog and so I’m posting it now. It was written and made last summer.

A friend of mine today asked me if I had a recipe for Gazpacho. I didn’t. I never have recipes. I never make the same thing exactly the same twice. Absolutely never.

What I did think when she told me she wanted a recipe was, “I haven’t made Gazpacho in years and I have all that I need to make it either in the kitchen or in the garden right now.”

Being that there is no time like the present I hastened to make the soup. My friend is hopefully on her way here to have some with me. It’s chilling right now, but I’ve tasted it and it’s yummy.

gazpacho

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe tomatoes diced in small pieces (I used 3 yellow and one red as that is what I had in the garden)
  • 1/2 medium red onion diced very fine
  • 2 jalepenos diced in tiny pieces (one was red and one was green — also from the garden — red jalapenos tend to be a bit hotter as they are riper)
  • 2 red peppers diced (I cheated with the peppers as we don’t have them in the garden this year. I used two canned roasted red peppers)
  • 1 large cucumber diced into small bits (I keep the skin as they are organic and have no wax)
  • 1 – 14 oz can of tomato sauce
  • 4 cloves of garlic finely diced
  • large bunch of parsley also cut finely
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 tbls red wine vinegar
  • 2 tbls balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

This is an easy dish as you just toss everything into a bowl and mix it up well, taste it to make sure it’s got the right balance of stuff. You can adjust everything to taste.

After it’s all put together put in the refrigerator for a couple of hours to chill and also let the flavors blend more. It’s best cold.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 11:44 am

    I’m the same as you – I never make the same thing twice. Unless it’s for my parents, but only because they are such picky eaters.

    This gazpacho looks delicious – full of color and flavor!

  2. April 23, 2010 12:51 pm

    Beautiful! I love red onion, in fact I wanted that in mine but didn’t have any on-hand. Recipes are my biggest pet-peeve about food writing – I rarely write things down and never use the same recipe word-for-word twice.

  3. April 23, 2010 6:25 pm

    Gorgeous! Love the colors and the fact that it is so healthy and tasty. Nice one Monica Jane!

  4. April 26, 2010 9:11 am

    I like to blend mine, and I also like a variation that replaces cucumber with Cantaloupe melon. But I loved this post ‘cos it reminds me that summer is almost here.
    Greetings from Gibraltar.
    brian

  5. April 30, 2010 1:56 pm

    Soups are soul food in cold days. And I like garlic in all types of soups.

  6. May 5, 2010 10:15 pm

    Hiya MonicaJane..just checking in with you. It’s almost almost 11:30 and I am sleepless..thought I’d see what evryone was up to!

  7. May 18, 2010 10:24 pm

    Hope you are well :-)

  8. May 29, 2010 8:13 pm

    Gazpacho is one of my favorite soups and this recipe sounds delicious.

  9. June 7, 2010 4:13 pm

    I just wanted to drop by and say thanks for commenting! I miss your posts and hope you’re doing well!

    I know that feeling of just wanting someone to try something and to like you for it. (I mean that has to be part of why I bake so much right…baking my way to people’s hearts?) I was so deeply hurt when my dad wouldn’t even try it…and there was no rational reason why! I refuse to eat a lot of the food he cooks…like burgers and hot dogs and such. So I really shouldn’t feel bad, right? Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

