Skip to content

Herbed, cream of cauliflower soup

June 17, 2010

This was a very easy soup to make since I did it the lazy way and didn’t sautee the veggies first save the garlic. I simply coarsely chopped up all the veggies and tossed them into vegetable stock. I used three 32 ounce boxes of stock. This is a large soup as I like to freeze some for later. It can be made smaller or larger very easily and precise amounts of ingredients isn’t terribly important. Do it all to your taste and experiment to see what you like. My secret is that I ALWAYS cook this way and writing recipes is rather challenging as I hardly keep track of what I do. That is also one of the reasons I’ve been so absent on this blog lately. I’ve been cooking and simply getting into the Zen of it so to speak and not really been up to thinking about exactly what I did and writing about it. This soup though was so delightfully easy and delicious I thought I’d share.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large cauliflower
  • 3 large onions
  • 1 bunch celery
  • 1 whole head of garlic browned in butter
  • in a spice bag tsp of whole black pepper corns and 3 bay leaves (if you’ve not got the bag put the bay leaves in and retrieve later and grind some fresh pepper into the mix)
  • 16 oz fresh goat cheese (any fresh cheese like cottage or ricotta would be fine as a replacement and certainly one can also go much lighter on the cheese or even leave it out for a vegan version of the soup)
  • 3 tbls fresh dill chopped

Bring vegetable stock to a boil while chopping and adding all the veggies. Put the spice bag in. Brown the garlic in a tablespoon of butter and then immediately add that to the boiling veggies. DON’T put in the fresh dill until the nest step so it doesn’t overcook.

Once veggies are boiled to softness let it cool. You can toss the dill in at this point as well as the cheese so that it will soften. Once cooled enough to handle easily blend the veggies and cheese in a blender. You may have to heat again before serving but don’t bring to a boil.

Oh…thought I’d share my little spice bag find which I really enjoyed using:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 7:39 pm

    I am SO glad that you shared this! I’ve been trying to lighten things up a bit by making more soups and salads. The goat cheese tang must be excellent here!

  2. June 18, 2010 12:18 pm

    Good soup, I’m sure.

    I use an immersion blender when I make a vegetable soup.
    For instance, with fresh fava beans, I boil them in a vegetable broth, after browning a mix of onion, garlic and celery, and when cooked I put the immersion blender in it. Depending on how many beans there were, you can have a very thick soup, or a thin one.

  3. June 19, 2010 3:29 pm

    I am big fan of goat cheese…..looks great. I was just telling someone else that we are fans of soup in our household, even in the heat. Thanks for sharing!

  4. August 6, 2010 12:03 pm

    Thanks for this -absolutely delicious – though using purple cauliflower was maybe not such a good idea as it ended up looking grey!

  5. August 7, 2010 10:49 pm

    Hey this is a lovely Herbed, cream of cauliflower soup recipe. This is a perfect soup for a cold stormy night like we are having now. I’ll go to grocery tomorrow and get me a cauliflower for this soup. Thanks for sharing this one. If you wont mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your post. Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post so it will appear in the Foodista pages and it’s all set, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

