Skip to content

Clam and asparagus chowder

September 26, 2010

I’ve been making simple, fast, low-fat chowders a lot lately. There is a market near my home that sells overstock from gourmet type markets and I got lots of cans of inexpensive clams and oysters both a couple of months ago so that was the inspiration. This chowder could be made with oysters just as easily and in fact, I’ve done that too.

A traditional white chowder is laden with butter and cream. I discovered that one can make a superb light chowder with milk and fish stock. It means the soup can be eaten as a meal and you don’t have to worry about eating it frequently. (like when I make a HUGE pot of soup, which is what I always do)

I was concerned the first time I froze this soup, thinking it might not thaw out nicely, but it worked fine and so now I go ahead and make it with the thought of freezing some of it for later use. With fall here so is soup season and I always have several choices of various soups in my freezer.

Ingredients:

  • 3 – 10 oz cans of whole clams (5 oz of clam meat in each can)
  • 32 oz fish stock (or any veggie or chicken stock would be fine too)
  • 8 cups of milk (I used goats milk — I would definitely NOT use non-fat milk and would recommend whole milk)
  • 2 potatoes cut into small squares
  • 1 lb asparagus cut into one inch slices
  • 2 onions diced small
  • 2 cloves garlic diced
  • 1 bunch of celery diced small
  • 1 bunch of parsley diced
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp celery seed
  • 1 tbls butter
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (use any thickening agent you like, normal white flour would do fine — I use oat flour as I cannot eat wheat products)
  • Fresh black pepper to taste
  • Salt to taste

Saute onions, garlic and celery in the butter until soft and slightly browned. Add asparagus and potato and fish stock. Add bay leaves, celery seed, cayenne pepper and black pepper. Bring to boil and simmer on low until potatoes are soft.

Warm your milk separately in another pan while you’re doing all of this. Put it on low and let it heat up while you’re doing the rest of this.

When the potatoes are soft add the oat flour…by first mixing the oat flour with enough water or milk to make a runny paste. Add the runny paste to the boiling liquid while stirring rapidly. Once the soup is thickened a bit add the hot or very warm milk (do not boil the milk)

The soup is done. It’s fast, simple, delicious and healthy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 1:24 pm

    Ciao Monicuzzola.

    La ricetta sembra molto yummy, uno di questi giorni devo provare a farla.

    I hope you are doing well/oooxxx love papa`

  2. September 26, 2010 2:51 pm

    I am a bivalve lover and your chowder would hit the spot. Very nice, Monica Jane!
    Thanks for your very nice comments about my son joining the armed services. I really appreciate it :-)

  3. September 27, 2010 2:19 pm

    The sound of a low fat, big flavor chowder sounds fantastic to me! This looks so hearty!

    Thanks so much for trying to vote this morning! It actually didn’t open until 9AM EST, but it’s open now if you want to try again! <3

  4. September 27, 2010 5:25 pm

    Oh my, I have to make this, got the goat milk, can get the asparagus and just happen to have about 3/4 of a pound of clams in the freezer from the last time we went clamming – now I know whats for dinner THANKS!!!

  5. September 29, 2010 5:36 am

    Fruits of the sea and fish make the best soups. If it’s low fat it is even better.

Leave a Reply

