Skip to content

Winter multi squash soup with tahini

October 27, 2010

This is the best squash soup I’ve made. The key ingredients that made it unique are the tahini and the cardamom. It’s rich and delightful.

I got the squash for my soup from our local CSA program from Flying Cloud Farm.

I did not take a picture of our particular squashes, but found this convenient one with all three squash I used on google:

I make lots of butternut or pumpkin soups every fall. You can trade out pumpkin or various single winter squashes of your choice.

Ingredients:

  • One small butternut, a delicata and a carnival squash (you can use all butternut or pumpkin too — trading out squash in squash soup is something I do all the time)
  • 5 cups stock of your choice. I used homemade stock I’d frozen previously (add more if needed to get the right consistency)
  • One large onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbls shredded fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom (this is potent, if you aren’t familiar with this spice start with less and see what you think)
  • 2 tbls finely chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • salt and pepper to taste

Roast the squash until soft. Peel or spoon out of the shell and put pieces in blender. Puree with some of the stock. I add the ginger, cardamom, cilantro and coriander at this point too.

Sauté onion and garlic until soft. Add a bit of stock once it’s cooked and simmer a few minutes to soften it completely. Let cool briefly and then puree along with the tahini.

Combine the two purees, heat one final time and enjoy. You can spoon a dollop of plain yogurt on it if you like.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 12:35 pm

    Ciao Monicuzzola, too bad about your cold, I hope you’ll get rid of it soon.
    I’m doing fine, sort of, as usual.
    Hugs and kisses 000XXX – Papa`

  2. October 28, 2010 3:01 pm

    this looks really tasty and comforting :)

  3. November 1, 2010 6:33 am

    I hope you feel better soon! Soup is always a welcome thing when I am sick. Looks good Monica Jane!

Leave a Reply

