Skip to content

Cilantro and parsley pesto on mung bean noodles (vegan and gluten free simply by accident, I’m neither)

November 5, 2010

I’m neither vegan nor am I gluten-free, however I’m moving towards eating less and less animal products and I can’t eat wheat so I experiment with all sorts of other grains and noodles which has proven to be great fun and allowed me to discover I’m not missing much by not eating wheat. I WAS missing something when I ate it almost exclusively!

This dish is simple fast and wholesome.

  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 bunch parsley
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • salt to taste
  • olive oil to puree

This is a mini food-processor

Toss all of the above into a food processor until pureed to your liking. It helps to chop everything up coarsely before putting in processor.

Serve on mung bean noodles.

I prepared about 3 oz of the mung beans. I put them in water in a pot on the stove. They do not need to come to a boil. They cook very quickly. When they are softened I simply put them in a colander and cut them up with scissors.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 12:29 pm

    I’m sure it’s good, I make all kinds of pesto…always good.

    I hope you are doing better, love and kisses – Papa`

Leave a Reply

