Skip to content

Coconut lemon chicken

November 17, 2010

coco

This recipe was inspired by a recipe a friend emailed to me. It’s right here. The blog it comes from is quite delightful as well. It looks fantastic and suggests several possible variations. Generally when I get an idea I look up on google and enter the main ingredients of a dish and then I look at 4 or 5 or 6 recipes to come up with whatever I do. In this instance it was only this one recipe so it’s easy to link to it. I’m never without a source of inspiration though, whether it’s a memory from childhood, a cookbook or google at my fingertips.

Ingredients of my variation:

  • 3 large chicken leg quarters cut in pieces and skinned
  • 1 tbls coconut oil
  • 1 – 14 oz can coconut milk
  • 1 large bunch of cilantro cut coarsely
  • 10 large garlic cloves peeled and smashed
  • Lemon zest from two lemons
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 2 tbls grated fresh ginger
  • 2 large jalapeño peppers, sliced round
  • Steamed brown rice

Brown chicken pieces and garlic in the coconut oil. (I use coconut oil in many things these days and I’m learning to switch to it for much of my high heat cooking. It’s possible to get very mild flavored coconut oil so that it’s not intrusive even in dishes that aren’t coconutty!

Once it’s nice and brown put in all the rest of the ingredients and turn to a low simmer. Cook until meat is coming off the bone a bit. Serve over rice.

coco3

I just ate this. Wrote the above while it was cooking. It was very very good. I would make one change since I like heat. I would use a hotter variety of chili instead of the jalapeños. I didn’t taste any heat at all. The sauce was still very good and the house smelled delightfully lemony while it was cooking.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 10:07 pm

    Simple ingredients with a big return on tatse…you did it again Monica Jane! I would need to leave out the jalapenos…heartburn issues :-(

  2. November 18, 2010 3:08 pm

    That looks absolutely wonderful!

    I love coconut anyway, and have also been using coconut oil more for cooking recently. (Besides the extra-virgin kind as a moisturizer. ) This dish does look simple in a good way. I’ll have to try to come up with a decent substitute for the cilantro, though, since Ingvar tastes it as tin foil covered in soap. :( It’s hard to think of something that won’t change the character of the dish too much, so maybe I’ll just try a batch when he’s not home. *g*

  3. December 8, 2010 9:39 am

    I love anything with coconut. ANYTHING. The more of it in my life the better I think. Love this dish!

Leave a Reply

