Skip to content

Baba Ganoush

December 9, 2010

This is a quick and easy recipe that I created for today. It’s using short-cuts as I wanted it ready within an hour.

Instead of leaving the eggplant whole and firing it on a burner or under the broiler and then baking, I cut it in threes (it’s a large eggplant) and placed it in a pan with olive oil to roast at 400 degrees. One step is faster and easier. Cutting it in three large pieces meant it wouldn’t have to roast quite as long.

I threw into the pan 6 cloves of garlic to roast along with the eggplant. Generally one uses raw garlic when one is doing the puree but I thought the roasted flavor would be a nice alternative as today I thought something a bit mellower than the raw garlic would be nice. (don’t get me wrong, I LOVE raw garlic…but variation is nice too)

Baba Ganoush

Baba Ganoush

  • One large eggplant
  • juice of one lemon juice
  • 4 tbls olive oil
  • 1/4 cup tahini (I added a tbls at the end)
  • salt
  • cayenne
  • six cloves garlic (if it wasn’t roasted I could have used much less garlic as it stands I ended up adding one clove raw garlic as I ended up missing the raw flavor)
  • 1 bunch parsley or cilantro (or a combination of both)

Puree everything up to your taste and liking after the eggplant gets very soft in the oven. Dig the meat out of the eggplant shell first and toss the skin. This is one of the only dishes I actually get rid of skin…I generally eat the skin of most foods but in this instance the puree is much nicer without the skin and also the skin of eggplant has some toxins in it that while in small amounts it’s not a big deal it allows for me to get rid of it more easily. With other foods (like potatoes) it seems sacrilegious as the skin is often such a rich source of nutrients and fiber.

You can play with the amount of all the ingredients in the puree until it’s perfect. This also keeps developing flavor if you keep it 24 hours and more. It seems like all eggplant dishes have that quality. I don’ know why.

It was yummy…and even with the short cuts it took more than an hour to put together after all (including roasting time). I believe I roasted it for about 45 minutes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 6:39 am

    I’ve made baba ghanouj both the hard and the easy way and I have to say, the easy way wins out. So much better to just throw the eggplant into the oven and walk away! this sounds truly delicious.

Leave a Reply

