Skip to content

Ginger cookies – light and delicious, naturally

December 17, 2010
Ginger cookies

Ginger cookies

I got this idea from Joyous Health today. Joy has got a great blog on all things good health with an emphasis on nutrition being that she is a nutritionist by profession.

The orignal recipe for these cookies is here. I was very thrilled to get the idea and the very important fundamentals from Joy’s blog. I am constitutionally incapable of following a recipe so as per usual I made changes and this post makes note of them.

These are gluten free and they have very little added sweetener. My recipe only has molasses. If you want more sweetness roll the balls in some granulated sugar as Joy did. Most people would probably prefer additional sweetness. Being that I rarely do sugar they were delightful just with the molasses. I also added quite a lot more spice and actually think next time I’ll go even higher on the ginger and cinnamon, but not the ground cloves…that wasn’t in the original recipe at all.

The rice flour gives them a grainier texture than usual which might not work in lots of cookies but I think it’s nice with the ginger cookies.

I am going to try using fresh grated ginger next time…that sounds even more delightful.

This is what I did:

  • 2 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1 tbls powdered dry ginger
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 molasses

Mix the dry ingredients and then add the coconut oil, the egg and molasses. If you’ve not cooked with coconut oil before you generally need to heat it up a bit at this time of year as it goes solid.

Once you’ve got the dough made make 1 inch or so balls and put on cookie sheet. Cook at 350 degrees for about 11 to 13 minutes until they look like the picture.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 5:15 pm

    I really like this recipe… very nice post

  2. December 18, 2010 11:41 pm

    They came out very nice looking. I can’t always get my cookies in a shape like that…they all have weird edges. Bet the coconut oil was a tatsy addition.

  3. December 22, 2010 8:21 am

    I have basically become OBSESSED with ginger cookies lately after a whole container full of Trader Joe’s ginger snaps made their way into my stomach. Oy. These look delicious!

  4. Heather permalink
    March 27, 2011 3:25 pm

    This looks yum. I’m going to give it a go. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

