Skip to content

Merry Christmas…dinner for two…

December 25, 2010
tags: ,

Christmas meal

Roasted a duck for the first time ever. This is not going to be a recipe post, but I’ll tell you what I did. I stuffed the duck with an orange cut in four pieces mixed up with several whole garlic cloves (smashed) and chunks of ginger.

I fairly heavily salted the whole bird and let it sit over night in fridge. This is called a “dry brine” I know nothing about precisely how it works or if it’s preferable to others ways of cooking a duck as I’m never done this. I poked the duck all over with a knife so that the fat could be released while roasting

I cooked it at 425 degrees flipping the bird (ha! a pun) every 45 minutes, emptying the carcass of liquids each time. It cooked about 2 hours (it’s a 5 lb bird). Came out heavenly!

Then we had roasted sweet potatoes which I tossed in coconut oil and sage. The regular potatoes I tossed in olive oil, salt, pepper, rosemary and sage.

And finally the brussel sprouts (which got a bit burnt) I braised them in butter, garlic and red pepper flakes.

A simple, but delicious meal for two. I was pleased.

I’ve got some homemade vegan egg nog in the fridge. It’s REALLY good. Here is the recipe.

Later I’ll make my apples from yesterday. (that was a repost from last year)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. papa` permalink
    December 25, 2010 2:02 pm

    nam nam….sounds/looks delicious

  2. December 29, 2010 8:33 am

    Mmm I really love the buttery fattiness of duck but have yet to attempt it myself! This sounds like a winning “recipe”! I’m glad to hear you had such a lovely Christmas dinner!

  3. December 30, 2010 8:45 pm

    I can see why you were pleased. I really like duck and I don’t think Americans eat it enough.

    Great looking platter of food!

    Velva

Leave a Reply

