Skip to content

An early experiment in non-dairy and non-grain land…

April 6, 2011

I just made my first large batch of homemade almond milk with raw soaked almonds…OMG soooo good and seriously better than dairy. I’ve tried all sorts of alternatives to dairy in boxes…IMHO they’re all not very good at all…this homemade stuff is entirely different…not comparable to store bought stuff…totally different thing.

I’ve been making small batches and having a glass a day because I miss the creamy factor of dairy products. Not so much milk as I never drank it, but cheese or dairy in cooking. It’s a delightful fix.

I don’t add anything to it at all. It’s naturally lightly sweet and rich flavored.

Now I have the almond grit drying in oven to make almond flour…no waste (I have a dehydrator but don’t have the sheets yet). Prior to this large batch I put small amounts of “grit” in soup which was fine too, but the option to bake is enticing…I will make pancakes with this first batch of flour!

I’m doing this as a journal entry right now. I’m not up to sharing the recipe…but I promise I will and if you let me know you’re interested I’m more likely to follow through sooner!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    April 6, 2011 4:39 pm

    It sounds really really good, MonicaJane! I’m not up for the amount of effort it would take to do this but love following what you are doing!

  2. Heather permalink
    April 6, 2011 5:06 pm

    I’m very interested! (When you feel up to it.) Sounds like a great idea all round.

  3. April 6, 2011 6:05 pm

    I will share when I’m feeling up to it…it’s amazing how much new stuff I need to learn.

    Susan, I did this in 5 minute increments…was in bed repeatedly in between bits…I’ve always cooked that way since I’ve been sick…its the only way I’d ever get anything done…

    and I did make the almond flour and we had almond flour pancakes for dinner…really easy and delicious…nothing is hard at all…just lots of new stuff to learn…

Leave a Reply

