Skip to content

A (very) little introduction to GAPS diet

April 7, 2011

Note and update: I do not recommend the below class on reversing allergies. I had very different expectations of the class then what it’s panned out to be. Perhaps that was my misreading of the presentation. I don’t know. I do know there are other people who are unhappy as well and they too had very different expectations. 

It is a COOKING CLASS. That is all. It does not teach how to heal the gut in any explicit fashion. All the footwork about how to use the diet must be done on your own with the book and no assistance from the teacher of this course. If you are not comfortable in the kitchen, then as a cooking class it’s probably worth it. Certainly one must learn some new skills and start using new ingredients. I’m a very creative cook and so it wasn’t something I needed, certainly not for $150…and now it’s running at $200. 

Okay,
wow!
I’m freakishly well today…
Today is generally and (always now for over a year) the WORST day of my menstrual cycle. I can rely, pretty much 100% that this day of my cycle I will be in bed and unable to do anything and miserably ill.

Today I’ve been up AND out of the house. I ran three errands in fact! This is amazing and while it’s premature to assume that this will continue (I’m way too used to the roller coaster to expect or hope for something like that) it’s still amazing. I rarely can go out and do ONE errand even on a good day. This should be my worst day and I feel like I can do normal stuff.

I don’t feel normal in that I still feel sick, but that’s my normal these days…just being able to DO normal things makes me very happy.

anyway…I have no idea if this is just a freak day or if the 2 weeks without a multitude of allergens is paying off…and heck, it’s hard not to get hopeful.

I started the Reversing Allergies Class. It’s very exciting.

This is the teacher of the class who talks about curing herself from rheumatoid arthritis and other auto-immune illness.

The video is an advertisement for the class so it’s got that ring to it yet it’s very credible to me because I’ve known people who have changed their lives this way. And in fact I’ve been on a similar path and healed a great deal of symptoms, yet there is still much more to go and in reading this book I’m learning that there is much much more I can do to get to good health. I had only scratched the surface with my earlier dietary changes.

It should be understood that the doctor who wrote this book started off by helping children with autism. That led to her working with kids with other issues that manifest with seemingly mental symptoms. Later she discovered that healing the gut in this manner helps with all manner of auto-immune illness and many chronic illnesses that are common in the Western world…and it’s all because good gut health is often the root of good whole body/mind and spirit health.

(oh just to put things in perspective, I’m laying down in bed now…and will have to do that off and on today, BUT I imagine I’ll be able to be up even more today) It’s premature to assume this will last but I like to enjoy good times when they are here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    April 7, 2011 8:25 pm

    Its great to hear you sounding so positive and full of life today, Monica Jane! I’m looking forward to following your journey into food and healing! Hope is a good thing!

  2. July 8, 2011 10:18 am

    Note and update: I do not recommend the above class on reversing allergies. I had very different expectations of the class then what it’s panned out to be. Perhaps that was my misreading of the presentation. I don’t know. I do know there are other people who are unhappy as well and they too had very different expectations.

    It is a COOKING CLASS. That is all. It does not teach how to heal the gut in any explicit fashion. All the footwork about how to use the diet must be done on your own with the book and no assistance from the teacher of this course. If you are not comfortable in the kitchen, then as a cooking class it’s probably well worth it. Certainly one must learn some new skills and start using new ingredients. I’m a very creative cook and so it wasn’t something I needed, certainly not for $150…and now it’s running at $200.

Leave a Reply

