Skip to content

Preparations towards GAPS living in the last 24 hours

April 8, 2011

In the last 24 hours:

  • I’ve soaked 4 cups raw organic almonds in water to start the sprouting process and greatly increase the nutritional value of the nut while diminishing it’s natural toxins — and then laid them out in a dehydrator to dry. First time doing this. If all goes well will do more for munching and also to make almond flour as well as almond butter.
  • I cut down all the wild raspberry plant coming up in our grass outside of the raspberry patch and cut off all the leaves and put them in the dehydrator too. Raspberry leaf tea is medicinal and helps bring equilibrium to women’s hormones. (this is my own thing — not part of GAPS diet, but is in keeping with traditional living and eating)
  • I got a Kombucha scoby from a woman on freecycle and made my first brew with decaf black tea and organic sugar about 2 gallons…will take 2 or 3 weeks to be ready. I’ve made Kombucha before but it’s been a while. (the ferment will go long enough that there will be no sugar left in the brew when it comes time to drink it)

**Kombucha is a fermented tea that has lots of natural pro-biotics. The GAPS diet is high in homemade fermented beverages, vegetable and meats and fish.

**I am making notes here but not explaining why I’m doing it for now. I’ve got limited energy, but at some point I will share more details. Right now I’m learning so much there is just lots of absorbing of info that must take place before I share more details. I’ve not started the diet proper but am slowly learning the skills to start living this way and also stock my kitchen and freezer with all the necessary items.

I’ll start taking photos soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 9, 2011 6:21 am

    I’ve just started to soak my almonds – interesting! The Kombucha looks good, and I’d like to know more about it. Thank you!

    • April 9, 2011 1:46 pm

      it’s really great stuff…if you google Kombucha you’ll find lots of information about it…

      it’s a popular drink among celebrities and the like these days…a bottle costs about 5 bucks…

      it costs pennies a bottle to make! Yay

  2. Susan permalink
    April 9, 2011 1:40 pm

    This is my first exposure to these kinds of major changes; I think it will be helpful for me to observe from distance and start asking myself how I might incorporate some of these changes myself at some point. The beginning of change – new information:)

    • April 9, 2011 1:45 pm

      that’s how to do it, yes…none of this is totally unfamiliar to me and I’ve done some of it often…but it’s still HUGE for me to make the changes I’m making now and to learn all the new cooking methods etc…

  3. Kassi permalink
    April 21, 2011 12:00 am

    Bethenny Frankel (media socialite to say the least) has spoken of drinking Kombucha. She says it’s an acquired taste. I saw it at Whole Foods but was unsure of trying it.

  4. April 21, 2011 6:40 am

    I know you like beer :-) which suggests to me you’d like Kombucha…since I don’t tolerate beer anymore I always feel decadent when I have Kombucha…

    it’s mildly alcoholic…like .05% or something and very very yummy in my opinion…

Leave a Reply

