Skip to content

Butternut squash pasta — grain free, vegan, tomato free (oh my)

May 22, 2014

butter

So I julienned a butternut squash. Julienne peelers are pretty awesome. I use them with zucchini and sweet potatoes too. I intend to experiment further with other veggies as well. This is actually the one I have. I borrowed the picture to the right from google because I failed to take a photo. The picture of the actual finished dish is what I made, however.

I put onion, celery, carrots, one small beet, garlic, parsley and basil in a food processor first…then the grated raw veggies were sautéed and browned in ghee for about 45 minutes…then at the end I added a cashew cream (soak cashews for 4 hours and then blend in the blender — I used half a cup of nuts which came to about a cup of cream) with some hemp seeds also tossed in…with some additional raw garlic…. (the dish is basically a vegan –save for the ghee– and if you don’t want to use the ghee you can use a non-dairy substitute and voila it’s a tomato free, grain free, pasta dish).

Yes, my histamine intolerance makes me get quite creative in the kitchen.

Photo on 1-22-14 at 12.14 PM #2I tossed the “noodles” into the hot veggies for a couple of minutes to take the crunch off. You can heat them as long as you like. I ate them pretty much raw and like them that way. My husband preferred them cooked a bit.

Eating wholesome whole real food is important for body/mind/spirit health and well-being. I’ve written a lot about my adventure with diet and healing here:  Nutrition and gut health, Mental health and diet

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

