Cucina Naturale

I like good food

Creamy onion potato soup

This is a comforting and tasty soup.

creamy onion soup

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups vegetable stock
  • 4 large onions cut in very fine half circles
  • 3 potatoes (I leave skins on as I eat organic produce and skins are good for us. I do scrub them with a scrub spunge)
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 2 tbls butter
  • 1 tsp dill
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 8 oz goat cheese (soft fresh cheese)
  • 2 cups milk
  • lots of fresh ground black pepper
  • salt to taste

Carmelize the onions in the butter.

Cut up the potatoes in chunks a size that will comfortably go into a blender after boiling them in water. Boil them.

When onions are carmelized pour in the cup of wine and cook for a couple of minutes. Add the dill and the thyme, salt and pepper. Add the vegetable stock.

Cook the stock and the onions while the potatoes are boiling. Boil potatoes until they are very very soft. Let them cool a bit while the onions and stock continue to simmer on low. Once somewhat cool put them in a blender with the two cups of milk. Add some stock if needed. Blend until smooth. Blend in the 8 oz of goat cheese.

Add the potato, milk and goat cheese blend to the soup. Taste and add salt and pepper if needed.


5 responses to “Creamy onion potato soup”

  1. Tina Avatar

    Ummmmmm…..I can almost smell it. It’s cold here, despite it being Florida, and I would love a bowl of this soup. It will be 28 degrees tonight and frost is already on our field.

    When I make this I’ll let you know and post it next week,

    1. monicajane Avatar

      that will be fun to see you make it!

      so far I only know of non-bloggers who have made my food (friends)

  2. Bob Avatar

    I could go for a bowl of that right now, it didn’t get out of the teens today. Out of curiosity, why don’t you cook the potatoes in the stock?

    1. monicajane Avatar

      no reason…it’s a better idea to use stock, sure.

      I have cognitive issues which is why I don’t post often…I’m cooking all the time, but writing recipes is really hard for me…

      and sometimes I do stupid stuff like cook potatoes in water!

  3. Joanne Avatar

    It is approximately -100 degrees here now so I could use some soup to warm me up. I love the sound of this one. I bet the tangy goat cheese does really well to contrast the earthy potatoes. Perfection.

Leave a comment